END NOTES

“Manis Pentadactyla .” Manis Pentadactyla (Chinese Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/12764/0  

“Chinese Pangolin.” IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group, www.pangolinsg.org/pangolins/chinese-pangolin/

“Chinese Pangolin Photos and Facts.” Arkive, www.arkive.org/chinese-pangolin/manis-pentadactyla/

“Manis Crassicaudata .” Manis Crassicaudata (Indian Pangolin, Thick-Tailed Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/12761/0

“Indian Pangolin.” IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group, www.pangolinsg.org/pangolins/indian-pangolin/

“Thick-Tailed Pangolin Videos, Photos and Facts.” Arkive, www.arkive.org/thick-tailed-pangolin/manis-crassicaudata/

“Manis Culionensis .” Manis Culionensis (Philippine Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/136497/0

“Philippine Pangolin.” IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group, http://www.pangolinsg.org/pangolins/philippine-pangolin/

Schoppe, S. “Re: Manis culionensis photos.” Received by R. Cota-Larson, 23 October 2017.

“Manis Javanica .” Manis Javanica (Malayan Pangolin, Sunda Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/12763/0

“Sunda Pangolin.” IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group, http://www.pangolinsg.org/pangolins/sunda-pangolin/

“Sunda Pangolin Photos and Facts.” Arkive, www.arkive.org/sunda-pangolin/manis-javanica/

“Phataginus Tetradactyla .” Phataginus Tetradactyla (Black-Bellied Pangolin, Long-Tailed Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/12766/0

“Long-Tailed Pangolin.” IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group, www.pangolinsg.org/pangolins/long-tailed-pangolin/

“Black-Bellied Pangolin Photos and Facts.” Arkive, www.arkive.org/black-bellied-pangolin/uromanis-tetradactyla/

“Phataginus Tricuspis .” Phataginus Tricuspis (African White-Bellied Pangolin, Three-Cusped Pangolin, Tree Pangolin, White-Bellied Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/12767/0

“Smutsia Gigantea .” Smutsia Gigantea (Giant Ground Pangolin, Giant Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/12762/0

“Giant Pangolin.” IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group, http://www.pangolinsg.org/pangolins/giant-pangolin/

“Giant Ground Pangolin Photos and Facts.” Arkive, www.arkive.org/giant-ground-pangolin/smutsia-gigantea/

Jansen, R. “Re: Pangolin.” Received by R. Cota-Larson, 11 July 2017.

“Smutsia Temminckii .” Smutsia Temminckii (Cape Pangolin, Ground Pangolin, Scaly Anteater, South African Pangolin, Steppe Pangolin, Temminck’s Ground Pangolin), www.iucnredlist.org/details/12765/0.

Hywood, L. (personal communication, 2014 - 2017)

CITES Wiki Identification Manual. http://citeswiki.unep-wcmc.org/IdentificationManual/tabid/56/language/en-US/Default.aspx

Mwale M., Dalton DL, Jansen R, De Bruyn M, Pietersen D, Mokgokong PS, Kotzé A. Forensic application of DNA barcoding for identification of illegally traded African pangolin scales. Genome. 2017 Mar;60(3):272-284. doi: 10.1139/gen-2016-0144. Epub 2016 Oct 27.

Philippe Gaubert, Agostinho Antunes; Assessing the Taxonomic Status of the Palawan Pangolin Manis culionensis (Pholidota) Using Discrete Morphological Characters. J Mammal 2005; 86 (6): 1068-1074. doi: 10.1644/1545-1542(2005)86[1068:ATTSOT]2.0.CO;2

Wang B, Yang W, Sherman VR, Meyers MA. Pangolin armor: Overlapping, structure, and mechanical properties of the keratinous scales. Acta Biomater. 2016 Sep 1;41:60-74. doi: 10.1016/j.actbio.2016.05.028. Epub 2016 May 21.

Luczon AU, Ong PS, Quilang JP, Fontanilla, IKC. Determining species identity from confiscated pangolin remains using DNA barcoding. Pages 763-766 | Received 11 Jul 2016, Accepted 16 Sep 2016, Published online: 18 Oct 2016. 

Katsis, L. “[EXT]: RE: Feedback on Identifcation guide.” Received by R. Cota-Larson, 09 May 2018.