如何使用本指南

本指南旨在帮助您确切地鉴别八种穿山甲,并尽可能地识别他们的身体部位和鳞片,甚至是在这些身体部位和鳞片已经从动物体剥离的情况下。

本指南中分布范围地图的设计是为了协助执法部门确定在贸易中观察到的穿山甲物种可能的原产国和运输路线,并不表示地图中所列出的每个国家内 的具体地理范围。请注意,在某些国家同时有多种穿山甲的自然分布。

本指南内容是通过关键差异化的外形特征来组织编撰的,因为穿山甲的照片相对少见, 所以经常反复使用相同的照片。物种概述则对主要区别进行说明。

外形、总长、鳞片图案、足部以及尾部与身体的比例可以帮助您识别鳞片完好无损的活 体或已死亡的动物。总长以及尾部与身体的比例则可以帮助您识别已除去鳞片的死亡动 物。

亚洲穿山甲物种在鳞片之间有刚毛,而非洲穿山甲物种则没有,了解这点将让您事半功倍。请谨记,每只穿山甲都是独一无二的,其外观可能不会与本指南中所示完全相同。

区域联系信息可以帮助您处理与活体动物有关的事件。

HOW TO USE THIS GUIDE


This guide is designed to help you confidently identify the eight species of pangolin, and when possible, body parts and scales even when removed from the animal.

Range maps are designed to assist law enforcement in determining possible country of origin and transit routes for pangolin species observed in trade. They are not indicative of specific geographic ranges within each country listed. Note that multiple pangolin species are native to certain countries.

The contents are organized by key differentiating physical characteristics, often utilizing the same photograph, because pangolin photographs are relatively uncommon. Species summaries note the main differentiators.

Profiles, total lengths, scale patterns, feet, and ratio of tail to body can help you identify live or dead animals with scales intact. Total length and ratio of tail to body can help you identify dead animals with scales removed.

It is helpful to know that Asian pangolin species have bristles between the scales, while African pangolin species do not. Keep in mind that each pangolin is an individual and may not appear exactly as it does in this guide.

Regional contact information is provided to assist you with incidents involving live animals.